Weekend Fun

Saturday was our 2nd Goal Saturday and what fun. We started early in the day, Rebecca arrived about 7:50 a.m. and she got all set up on the loveseat with a book and a nice quilt. Of course our cat Toni decided to join her. I have never seen a cat turn up a nap on a nice soft quilt. The concept of Goal day came from Rebecca’s busy schedule. She works for an Accounting Firm that is very busy from January – April 15th and it really helps her to have a structured day in her schedule that is away from all work and chores in order to relax and enjoy her hobby reading. As we like to describe it, Goal day is a day to concentrate on feeding our soul with enjoying our hobbies.

I did some prep work on Wednesday night, I laid out the Star quilt and another baby quilt for quilting so that I would be ready to go! I had started the quilting on the star quilt on Thursday night, so I was able to complete the quilting on the star quilt in the morning. At the same time, as I sometimes do, I was watching an online class about Art Quilt Backgrounds with Judith Trager on Craftsy because our Guild has an Art Quilt challenge as its 3rd challenge which is due in May 2014. So while I was finishing up the Star Quilt I wanted to start thinking about an idea for the Art Quilt challenge. I still am not sure what the plan will be for that but I will be making free form log cabin blocks for the background of it.

Image

Next I decided to start the block challenge that I have due in April. We did a simple block draw in September and making something from that quilt block is the challenge. The block that I pulled from the envelop was the block – Snails Trail. The plan is to make the block into the intertwining cat tails and build the cat blocks around it. I finished the snails trail block and now I have to make the cat blocks.

Image

We had grilled sandwiches for lunch and a light dinner of Chinese food as we had an event to attend Saturday evening, a Pearl Odyssey home party where we pick oysters and have the pearls set into jewelry. It was a great fun evening with wonderful friends, a little wine, and some lovely desserts. The whole day was full of relaxation, quilting, and laughter.

I usually spend time on Sunday making lunch for my Dad and if I am lucky we are also joined by Rebecca and Kris, or one of my sisters and one of my brother-in-laws, or some of my nieces and their beautiful children.  This week it was my sister Sharon and her husband Dwinal, her daughter Krista, and husband Mike and 2 of their 3 children.  On the way, my sister spied a Bald Eagle in a tree along the river.  She was able to get some good photos and if you are interested you can find them on her blog: http://newhartfordbeacon.com .  Also if you are interested in Rebecca’s blog of her book   reviews you can find it here  http://rebeccabookreview.wordpress.com

Until next time, spend time with the ones you love and spend some time doing what you love!

Leave a Reply

